5th Nepal Cultural

1st April 2024, Kathmandu

The 5th Nepal Cultural International Film Festival (NCIFF) culminated on March 31st, 2024, with a dazzling awards ceremony, acknowledging remarkable achievements in global cinema. Hosted by the Nepal Culture and Film Centre, the festival captivated audiences from March 29th to 31st, presenting a diverse array of films, masterclasses, and workshops.

The festival featured 60 semifinalist films from 37 countries, providing a platform for filmmakers worldwide to share their narratives and connect with audiences. Highlights included masterclasses led by industry luminaries and workshops aimed at nurturing creativity and honing skills.

Masterclass Highlights:

  • Renowned film director and NCIFF international jury member, Mr. Mushtaaque Ali Ahmad Khan, conducted a masterclass titled “Filmmaking – Navigating Challenges and Celebrating Victories” at the Film Development Board Nepal.
  • Ms. Ljubinka Stojanovic from Serbia hosted a workshop titled “Creating the Future of Film Structure and Unlocking Screenwriting Secrets” at the Nepal Tourism Board.

Both sessions garnered acclaim from participants, enriching the festival experience.

The pinnacle of NCIFF was the grand award ceremony held at the Film Development Board Nepal. Esteemed international jury members and delegates from across the globe convened to celebrate the outstanding talent showcased at the festival.

International Award Winners Include:

  • Best International Feature Film Award: “Dear Satyajit” (Bangladesh)
  • Best International Short Film Award: “No Freedom No Art” (UK)
  • Best International Women Film Award: “Interval” (Iran)
  • Best International Children Film Award: “Shot Boot Three” (India)
  • Best International Documentary Film Award: “Sheikh Al Tanweer” (Bahrain)
  • Best International Environmental Film Award: “The Last Seed” (South Africa)
  • Best International Human Rights Film Award: “Where Have All the Smiles Gone” (Nepal)
  • Best International Actor Award: Juddho Joyer Kishore (Bangladesh)
  • Best International Actress Award: Jane (Canada)
  • Best International Cinematography Award: “Lokta Kingdom” (Nepal)
  • Best International Writer Award: “The Secrets of an Old Gun 2” (Czech Republic)
  • Best International Director Award: “Mujhay School Nahi Jaana Hay” (India)
  • Best International Jury Award: “Mayfly” (United States)
  • Best International Special Mention Award: “Sometimes Even the Shore Drowns” (Pakistan)
  • Best International Special Mention Award: “Immaculate” (France)

National Award Winners Include:

  • Best National Feature Film Award: “Chiso Manchhe”
  • Best National Short Film Award: “Ghurra”
  • Best National Women Film Award: “Gurkha Girl”
  • Best National Children Film Award: “Elderly’s Home”
  • Best National Documentary Film Award: “Corn Marriage”
  • Best National Environmental Film Award: “There Is No Tomorrow”
  • Best National Cultural Film Award: “Thim”
  • Best National Actor Award: Mahapurush (Haribansha Acharya)
  • Best National Actress Award: Chiso Manchhe (Swastima Khadaka)
  • Best National Cinematography Award: “The Sound of Dreaming” (Chintan Raj Bhandari)
  • Best National Writer Award: “Chhakka Panja 4” (Dipak Raj Giri)
  • Best National Director Award: “Maha Purush” (Pradip Bhattarai)
  • Best National Jury Mention Award: “Chhakka Panja 4” (Deepashree Niroula)
  • Best National Special Mention Award: Jarna L
  • Best National Special Mention Award: Yubaraj

Mr. Santosh Subedi, Chairman of Nepal Culture and Film Centre and Director of the 5th Nepal Cultural International Film Festival expressed gratitude to all participants, sponsors, and supporters for their contributions to the festival’s success.

For further information about the 5th Nepal Cultural International Film Festival, please visit www.ncfc.org.np or contact +9779841316118.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here