ICT Product Award

Kathmandu, 18 August 2019

ICT Award 2019 Winners Felicitated, We are bringing a new IT policy focusing on Science and Technology: MoEST Pokharel. Nepal’s most ground-breaking ICT entrepreneurs, innovators, enterprises, and products have been honored amidst a special award ceremony organized in Kathmandu on Saturday, August 17. The winners were announced in 10 different categories. Minister of Education, Science, and Technology – Giriraj Mani Pokhrael, former ICT Minister – Ganesh Sah, Member of Parliament and former Industry Minister – Mahesh Basnet and other special guests felicitated the award winners.

E-digital Nepal was announced the winner of the ICT Startup category. Similarly, Mediflow System and Services was recognized as the best ICT product award. Likewise, Raktadaan – a platform developed by students of Pulchowk Engineering Campus won the Rising Student Project Award. ICT Pioneer Award was awarded to Mahabir Pun, Chairperson of National Innovation Center Nepal.

Likewise, Amit Agrawal, Co-Founder of Sparrow SMS and Khalti Digital Wallet was felicitated with ICT Entrepreneur Award – a category dedicated to IT Entrepreneurs of Nepal who are shaping the arena in Nepal and beyond, to recognize their ability and help them move ahead. Meanwhile, Diaspora ICT Award – an award to honor the person who has remained out of Nepal but has made a remarkable imprint in the international arena and has helped identify the country as internationally competent in global stage – went to Sameer Maskey, Founder of FuseMachines.

Lok Sewa Aayog was awarded the ICT Digital Governance Award – an award to honor and recognize the government organization that has been involved in promoting, using and enabling digital governance through their offices. Meanwhile, Nepal Open University was recognized with the Digital Education ICT Award for the optimum utilization of ICT in the education sector. Bijay Timilsina – Journalist of Kantipur Daily was honored with ICT Media Person Recognition. Kitab Yatra – an online bookstore in Nepal was awarded the Public Choice Award. On the occasion, Posthumous Honor was given to Karmath Dangol for his contribution to the ICT sector of Nepal.

ICT Award 2019 Winners

  • Startup ICT Award – E-Digital Nepal
  • Product ICT Award – Mediflow System and Services
  • Entrepreneur ICT Award – Amit Agrawal
  • Pioneer ICT Award – Mahabir Pun
  • Nepali Diaspora ICT Award – Sameer Maskey
  • Digital Governance ICT Award – Lok Sewa Aayog
  • Digital Education ICT Award – National Open University
  • Rising Student ICT Award – Raktadaan
  • Public Choice ICT Award – Kitab Yatra
  • Media Person ICT Award – Bijay Timilsina

Hempal Shrestha, Jury Coordinator of ICT Award 2019 informed that every effort was applied to select the best candidate as the winner. Rajan Lamsal, envisioner and coordinator of ICT Award said the award was organized to respect and honor the pioneers and encourage the new entrants in the ICT sector. He informed that more than 200 applicants from across the nation had applied for the award this year in different categories. He further shared that the award can play a significant role in building and promoting ICT industry in Nepal.

During the award ceremony, Rastriya Banijya Bank announced to provide collateral-free loan up to 15 lakh rupees to the winners of ICT Startup Award, ICT Product Award, and Rising Student ICT Award. Likewise, Insurance Partner of the award, Asian Life Insurance, is providing life insurance up to 10 lakh rupees to all the award winners. Along with this, award winners have received various facilities and investment opportunities. Sushil Pokharel, MD of Sushmit International and one of the jury member said ICT Award has developed as a platform for ICT startups and innovations across Nepal to get recognition and investment opportunities. He further said that the ICT Award has added enthusiasm among people involved in the ICT sector in Nepal.

Speaking on the occasion, Giriraj Mani Pokharel, Minister of Education, Science and Technology and chief guest of the award ceremony informed that Nepal Government is in the final stage of introducing new ICT Policy in the country. He mentioned that the government cannot walk alone to connect the technological revolution seen in the world, and emphasized that partnering with the private sector is very essential to achieve the goals. “The government has put ICT sector in utmost priority for the development and prosperity of the nation,” he shared. He congratulated the ICT Award winners and requested them to be united and work together in a planned way for the prosperity of the country.

Similarly, former Minister Ganesh Sah and Vice-Chancellor of the Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), Sunil Babu Shrestha, in their remarks said that the ICT Award has contributed in the development of the overall IT industry in Nepal while exploring the potential in this area.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here