Ncell Scholarships Awards

26th May 2022, Kathmandu

Ncell confers ‘Ncell Scholarships and Excellence Awards 2021’ to the Institute of Engineering’s outstanding students.

Ncell Axiata Limited conferred Ncell Scholarships and Excellence Awards 2021 to the outstanding students of five different faculties of the Institute of Engineering (IoE), Pulchowk Campus on Wednesday, under its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).

The scholarships and excellence awards were handed over amidst a ceremony organized at Ncell ICON, the headquarter of the company in Kathmandu along with the faculty of IoE and family members of the outstanding students.

The scholarship and excellence awards program instituted in 2014 aims at encouraging technical education and recognizes young talents who have demonstrated extraordinary academic excellence. Civil, Electrical, Electronics and Communication, Computer, and Mechanical Engineering are the five faculties that have been incorporated into this program.

From the year 2021, a total of 18 Ncell Scholarships were conferred to the topper students. Similarly, 6 students who graduated from these five faculties securing the highest marks received Ncell Excellence Awards.

Students who graduated securing the highest marks were honored with Ncell Excellence Awards jointly by Dean of IOE Prof. Dr. Shashidhar Ram Joshi and CEO of Ncell, Andy Chong.

Likewise, Ncell Scholarships 2021 were handed over to the students by Ncell’s Executive Committee Members Chief Human Resources & Administration Officer Yuvraj Shrivastava, Chief Information Officer Vishal Mani Upadhyay, Chief Legal, Regulatory & Corporate Services Officer Ramesh Ghimire, and Chief Finance Officer (Designate).

As it was not possible to hold the handover ceremony physically last year due to the COVID-19 restriction, certificates to 18 winners of Ncell Scholarships and 6 winners of Ncell Excellence Awards from 2020 were also handed over.

Even though the physical program was not held last year, they were provided with their cash prize of Ncell Scholarships and Excellence Awards 2020 via IoE, Pulchowk Campus.

Dean of IOE Prof. Dr. Shashidhar Ram Joshi said, “We are glad to have this wonderful partnership with Ncell for Ncell Scholarships and Excellence Awards.

This has been instrumental in enhancing the knowledge of budding young talents and it contributes to knowledge development. We are thankful to Ncell for giving continuity to this program since 2014.”

Andy Chong, CEO of Ncell, shared his excitement and said, “This program has been one of the widely appreciated CSR initiatives of Ncell.

With this program, we aim to promote an intelligent pool of young talents in the field of engineering in Nepal, encouraging technical education and recognizing talents who have demonstrated academic excellence. Education is one of our top priority sectors under our CSR and we will continue to accord it a high priority.”

Every year, Ncell Scholarships are provided based on annual scores of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd years. The 18 scholarship receivers include 3 toppers of 1st year, 2nd year, and 3rd year from Civil, Electrical, Electronics, and Communication, Computer, and Mechanical Engineering faculty and 3 female toppers from 1st year, 2nd year, and 3rd year among all female students of these five faculties.

Similarly, the students graduating with top scores from each of these five faculties and also a female student graduating with top scores among all female students of the five faculties were honored with the Ncell Excellence Awards. Both scholarships and excellence awards are worth Rs. 100,000 each.

Following are the meritorious Ncell Scholarships and Excellence Awards 2021 recipients:

1st Year Toppers (2076)

Mr. Bikash Joshi (Civil Engineering)
Mr. Mecon Joshi (Electrical Engineering)
Mr. Krishbin Paudel (Electronics, Communication, and Information Engineering)
Mr. Sagar Kumar Thapa (Computer Engineering)
Mr. Prince Panta (Mechanical Engineering)
Ms. Liza Shrestha (Computer Engineering)

2nd Year Toppers (2075)

Mr. Shashwat Jha (Civil Engineering)
Mr. Bishnu Paudel (Electrical Engineering)
Mr. Ananda Thakur (Electronics, Communication, and Information Engineering)
Mr. Gaurav Jyakhwa (Computer Engineering)
Mr. Daya Bahadur Ghimire (Mechanical Engineering)
Ms. Supriya Khadka (Computer Engineering)

3rd Year Toppers (2074)

Mr. Bishal Shrestha (Civil Engineering)
Mr. Abinash Man Karmacharya (Electrical Engineering)
Mr. Jebish Purbey (Electronics, Communication, and Information Engineering)
Mr. Madhav Aryal (Computer Engineering)
Mr. Samundra Karki (Mechanical Engineering)
Ms. Binu Devkota (Civil Engineering)

Ncell Excellence Awards winners:

Mr. Saarad Kumar Pandey (Civil Engineering)
Mr. Shishir Lamichhane (Electrical Engineering)
Mr. Nishesh Awale (Electronics, Communication, and Information Engineering)
Mr. Baibhav Bista (Computer Engineering)
Mr. Chetan Dahal (Mechanical Engineering)
Ms. Shristi Shrestha (Electrical Engineering)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here