16th May 2021, Kathmandu
WhatsApp Messenger is a free messaging app available for Android and smartphones which allows users to send text messages and voice messages, make a voice call, video calls, share images, documents, user locations, and much more content.
When the users start receiving a persistent reminder, they will limit the functionality on WhatsApp until they accept the updates. This will not happen to all the users at the same time.
The WhatsApp users won’t be able to access their chat list, but the users will still answer incoming calls, video chats. If the users have enabled the notifications, they can tap on them to read or respond to a message, or you can even call back a missed phone or video call.
If the users delay more, the users won’t receive incoming calls or notifications, and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to their phone.
The users will export their chat history on Android or iPhone and even download a report of their account.
The crucial thing is that WhatsApp won’t delete their account if they don’t accept the update. According to the company’s spokesperson, this update doesn’t impact the privacy of personal messages of the users. He also claimed the security of the users’ personal messages and private information.